Welcome to Cwmavon Village, Torfaen
To book the hall, contact Caroline Jones on
Jackdaw's Quarry Folk Band
Saturday 30th October
Friday December 10th
Sunday December 19th
Forge Row Cottages, Cwmavon
Cwmavon village is the "Jewel of the Eastern Valley" located between the World Heritage Site of Blaenavon, to the north, and the village of Abersychan to the south. The village straddles the main A4043 following the valley of the picturesque Afon Llwyd. In the early 19th Century, Cwmavon was a small iron working centre adjacent to the eastern edge of the South Wales coalfields.
Later industry came to the village in the 1830's with the building of the Westlakes Brewery which brought employment to the village, but it remained essentially a sheep farming community.
Today, Cwmavon is a community of approximately 70 houses (about 180 residents) and contains several interesting and hstoric buildings surrounded by breathtaking scenery.
In the mid 19th Century the Wesleyan Chapel was built, followed in the 1920's by the addition of an adjacent Sunday School which was purchased in 1972 by the people of the village for £165 for use as a community centre.
By the turn of the 21st Century the community centre was no longer viable and was demolished in early 2007 to make way for a new village hall which opened in the Spring of 2008.
The building was designed by CDG of Newport and built by Noel Fitzpatrick with funding from the Welsh Assembly Government and the Big Lottery Fund.
It has been brought to our notice that Cwmavon is not a village but is a hamlet because there is not a church here.
The World Heritage Site actually extends into Cwmavon, the boundary apparently is drawn to the Llanover Lane end of the Old Westlakes Brewery (now the EMC factory) or could it extend to the southern end of Rose Tree Cottages, which was the original proposed site for the Heritage sign? ( Thank you, Kieron! )
This website will be updated and expanded in due course so please return soon.
The booking contact number is;-
Ask for Caroline Jones.