HomeSitemapEventsPrivacy StatementAccessibility Information

Blackthorn Meadow

What People Say

Guest Book Comments

It's always nice to find out what people really think of a holiday let before you book it for yourself. Below you can read what people who have stayed at Blackthorn Lodge have to say. 

2016 

02/09/2016 - Kashiff and family - London

We have stayed in cottages in wales before but this was the best. Cosy accommodation , excellent location- we will definiately be back - Thank You!

02/07/2016 - Janice and Arthur - Portsmouth

Lovely cottage in a peaceful location. Had everything we needed. Thank you xx

18/06/2016 - Roger and Joy - Warminister

Not your fault we chose the wettest June on record to stay here!! It was a wonderfully relaxing break in superb accommodation. Thank you xx

27/03/2016 - Amem and Saheel - Reigate

Great place and great environment - lots to see and do - We had a really great time!! Thank you!

28/02/2016 - Sam and Tim - Cwmbran

Birthday break in the cottage. Lovely Superb meal at the Carpenters' Arms and the fire made it so cosy! Thank you :)

14/02/2016 - Gareth and Jackie - Cardiff 

Lovely and peaceful weekend getaway. Only wish we could stay longer! Thank you.

01/01/2016 - Evans Family - Swansea

Massive thanks to Joe and Julia. Fantastic cottage and setting.Had a brilliant time and will def be back!! 100% recommended.

 2015


12/09/2015 - Paul Waite, Sydney Australia

"Really great cottage for a return visit after 4 years. Again met up with many relatives. The sunny days were so nice. Excellent meals at Carpenters Arms in the village."


28/08/2015 - Pierre from Wrexham

"Awesome week with me mates. Cottage super great, fishing on the Res not so but would defo come again."


02/08/2015 - Cat & Doreen from London

"A lovely cottage. Very well equipped - the little extras like milk and coffee made it so much nicer - lovely location - perfect for us to get away and relax Thank You!x"


27/07/2015 - Jim and Ann from Bristol

"Have to echo all the comments - well equiped and very cosy. We had a lovely stay even though the weather was horrible. Walked the canal path from Pontypool to Cwmbran and visited the 'Big Pit' - Both worh a visit. Thank you!!"


19/07/2015 - Norm & Gabby Hibberd and Berys and Martin Schurich - Melbourne Australia

"Very quiet peaceful location, handy to lots of sights. Thanks Joe and Julia for your hospitality".


10/07/2015 - Margaret and John - Kent

"Comfortable and well equipped cottage. We liked the peaceful surroundings. Found lots to do nearby. Thank you". 


23/05/2015 - Rive Family - Kent

"The bungalow is an excellent base for which to explore the area. We highly recommend a visit to the nearby reservoir, Garn Lakes, the Forest of Dean, Littledean Jail and the Carpenter's Arms".


18-25/04/2015 - Bronwen and Ian Storah - Poole, Dorset

"A very well equipped and comfortable cottage. Conveniently located for all the interesting sights in the area."


12/04/2015 - The Vaughns - York

"Beautiful place and very welcoming. Really appreciated the tea, milk and blazing fire on arrival - thank you!"


05/04/2015 - The Samuelsons, Dunedin, New Zealand

"Such a perfect place for a cosy holiday. So well-equipped - milk, tea, firewood waiting for us and every kitchen utensil we could need! The woodburning stove is lovely as well, and such comfy sofas".


01/01/2015 - The Grays from Abu Dhabi (U.A.E)

"Our 3rd visit and a wonderful Christmas / New Year Holiday - lovely to see the 2nd bungalow too - will see you again soon!"


2014


11/11/2014 - Derek Foster - Mississaugar. Catherine Darby & Hannah Foster - Burlington - Ontario, Canada 

"Five Stars. Three generations and many thanks. We didn't want for anything. We will return!"


18/10/2014 - Joan, Sue and Ann - Devizes Wilts and Weymouth

"Enjoyed our stay v. much. Lovely situation. Tranquil. Log fire very welcome".


29/09/2014 to 04/10/2014 - Karen, Mike and Charlie - Essex

"What a lovely peaceful place. The cottage is lovely and cosy and well equipped. We have had a great time exploring this part of Wales. Big Pit worth a visit. Thank you".


07-09/2014 - Faim - Brussels, Belgium

"A perfect base from which to enjoy the area and to share with local friends. Beautiful early Autumn weather too!!!"


16-30/08/2014 Gareth, Rebecca & Emmerson Ford - London, Ontario, Canada

"Our second stay... loved it just as much as the 1st stay. So comfy, cosy and quiet. Convenient location for exploring. The fire place came in handy this time around., as we had very cool weather."


21-28/06/2014 Alan,Patricia, Paul & Jason - Brightey

"Lovely and cosy cottage in a wonderful quiet location. A great base for exploring this part of Wales. Look forward to coming back in the future."


27/05/2014 Keith & Shirlie - Kent

"Loved the space and lots of unusual birds flitting around. Love the area but Welsh rain rectified by the log fire!"


30/03/14 - Louise 

"A great stay, thank you for accommodating us at such short notice. Will def see you again."


2013


29/12/13 – Philip and Victoria - Hampshire

"Thanks for the re-supply of logs! The fire made it very homely. Best wishes and see you again in 2014."


21/09/13 – John and Wendy Rackstraw – Melton Mowbray

"Lovely cottage, great spot. Had great trips out and about. Thanks very much. Eggs very good."


7/09/13 – Maria, Caroline and Ronnie – Surrey

"A clean, comfortable cottage. Very peaceful location. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Would recommend Big Pit, St Fagans and Cardiff Bay for days out."


21/08/13 – Lisa, Tony and family – Lancashire

"Great holiday. Enjoyed exploring Wales. Thanks."


2/08/13 – Lol and Irene Beavan – Flintshire

"Lovely, clean and comfortable cottage. Thank you both for a relaxing visit to Monmouthshire. Day trips to Big Pit and St Fagans highly recommended. Diolch yn fawr. Great holiday, enjoyed exploring Wales. Thanks."


20/07/13 – Lee and Meghan Reed and family – Duffus, Moray

"Fab yet again thanks Julia and Joe. See you soon. Welcoming hosts, very enjoyable stay."


08/07/2013 – Lucy, Mike and Sam

"Thank you! What a gorgeous spot! We loved it here and are sorry to leave. We will be back!"


11/07/13 – Michael, Rachel and family

"We had a great time. Just perfect for the boys who liked feeding the hens and all the toys."


26/06/13 - Barry and Pauline - Lancs

"Very comfortable / Nice Accommodation, will certainly Recommend / Be Back. Thank you."


15/06/13 - Chris, John, David and Bridget - Worcs

"Peaceful, relaxing weekend break in cosy comfy surroundings. What a treat!"


12/05/13 - Yvonne and Archie Taylor - Sturbridge

"All facilities excellent. Would recommend without hesitation."


1/04/13 - Sally, Alex, Sarah and Triona - Kent

"Many thanks to Julia and family for the lovely stay. We love the chickens, fire place and especially the settees (which we tried to take home - but they were too big!! :) )"


4/03/13 - Grays - Addis Ababa

"We said we'd be back! Lovely time again, thank you to Julia for her flexibility and making us feel so welcome."


2012

23/12/12 - The Reed Family - Duffus Moray

"A wonderful Christmas break. Thanks so much for looking after us so well. Hope to see you in the summer."


1/11/12 - Simon Palmer and family - Stoke-on-Trent

"Really enjoyed our break in this cost cottage and have loved the log fire! The scenery around here is wonderful and this is a good base. Caught up with old friends in Cardiff and Caerleon. Thanks for everything."


16/09/12 - John and Maureen Potts - Stoke-on-Trent

"Made very welcome. Lovely cottage, very well laid out. Everything we needed was provided. So quiet and away from it all. We've had a fantastic holiday."


01/09/12 - Peter Millman - Wrexham

"Nice chilled place. Good weather. Not so good (course) fishing in the Res though. Will come again."


25/08/12 - The Davisons - Norwich

"Big Pit Fab and Free! Well we've had a lovely time here at Blackthorne, really enjoyed Cardiff, Barry Island, Cantref and more! Love our holiday home and the peace and quiet. Big thanks to you and the chickens for great eggs."


20/08/12 - Rob and Joanna - London

"A well-equipped cottage with everything we needed for a fantastic, peaceful and relaxing week. Enjoyed the Big Pit and nearby castles. Everyone very friendly. Lovely. Thank you!"


20/08/12 - Rob and Joanna - London

"A well equipped cottage with everything we needed for a fantastic, peaceful and relaxing week. Enjoyed the Big Pit and nearby castles. Everyone very friendly. Lovely. Thank you!"


18/08/12 - The Wigman Family - Netherlands

"Enjoyed our stay here! Great playing field for the kids. Great talking to you. Now off to the Black Mountains."


10/08/12 - The Neats - Staffordshire

"Enjoyed the Big Pit and Ironworks.Cottage very comfy. A very relaxing holiday."


04/08/12 - Anthony Family - Suffolk

"Great cottage. Forest of Dean and Big Pit are worth a visit. Nice walks along river Usk."


28/07/12 - Buckingham Family - Buckinghamshire

"Thank you. A fantastic quiet cottage holiday."


19/07/12 - Gareth and Rebecca Ford - Ontario, Canada

"Lovely cottage! Nice and quiet. Great pub (Carpenter's Arms). Hope to be back next Summer."


07/07/12 - Malcolm and Janet - Florida

"Home from Home. Best tasting eggs we have eaten in 30 years."


30/06/12 - Sara and Barry - West Yorkshire

"We have had a fantastic week. The lodge is comfy and cosy and has everything we needed. A great place for exploring this beautiful part of the world. Thank you for a wonderful holiday! :)"


16/06/12 - Iain James and Family - Northern California

"Lovely, comfortable cottage great area for running and long walks especially at 5.00am (jet lag) - loved the log fire and peaceful setting. Thanks for your kindness and helpful advice - great eggs!"


02/06/12 - The Ravens - Birmingham

"Lovely venue. Log fire good for keeping warm in wet windy weather. Lovely stay. Thank You. :)"


12/05/12 - The Suleiman Family - Suffolk

"This has been a very cosy bungalow. With wide doors to accommodate my wheelchair. It's lovely to come back to S. Wales after 50 years! Thanks."


07/04/12 - Martyn Field and Family - Buckinghamshire

"This is a lovely bungalow in a lovely part of the world. We have had a lovely stay too. Fab hosts, thank you. Thanks too for the best eggs I've ever had! We will be back!!! :)"


31/03/12 - The Grays - Addis Ababa

"Lovely week, thank you. We will be back!"


14/02/12 - Ian Price and Family - Worcestershire

"What a wonderful, quiet, peaceful, long weekend. They were so helpful and have equipped the lodge to a very high standard and yes the fire place is fantastic we will be back."


2011

28/12/11 - Paul, Linda, Grace and Verity - Gloucestershire

"We had a lovely stay and hope to come back soon! Thank you xx"


26/12/11 - Paul, Louise - Aldershot. Margaret, Sarah and Sophie Bristol

"Lovely Christmas at Blackthorne Lodge, cosy and well equipped Thank you!"


29/11/11 - Chloe and Perry

"We have really enjoyed our stay here, the fire place made it really cosy. Thank you."


23/10/11 - Sam and Nicole - Surrey

"We had a great time at the cottage and particularly enjoyed using the fire place. Very quiet area, loved the peace and quiet."


16/10/11 - Nicola and Ashley - Hertfordshire

"Lovely place really comfy with the fire burning. well equipped. Thank you."


24/09/11 - Paul and Kay Waite - Sydney Australia

"Excellent cotage for a base to explore the land of my fathers. Many thanks to Julia and husband for all the kindness and teaching us to light a wood fire."


17/09/11 - John and Wendy Rackstraw - Melton Mobray

"Very comfortable cottage and equipped to a high standard. many thanks for everything to make a happy holiday,"


20/08/11 - Samuels - Plymouth

"Excellent accommodation, very quiet and plenty to see in the area. Food at Carpenters Arms and Green Meadow Golf Course 1st rate. Thank you. Mollie, Pat and Jacki"


14/08/11 - Dirk Witstok and Nicolette Meurs, Janis and Caroline - Netherlands

"We very much enjoyed our stay! Thank you so very much for your help and advice."


31/07/11 - Chris, Alan and Grandchildren - Swansea

"Lovely comfortable cottage. Peace and quiet and well stocked with games for children. Big Pit well worth a visit."


By Lymm: A Lovely Holiday

"A restful holiday in deepest South Wales. Blackthorne Lodge was a lovely place to stay. Joe and Julia made us very welcome and the quality of the fittings, furniture and cleanliness was first class. The bungalow is situated in a very pretty spot in the heart of the country, with amazing air..."


By Isobel6565 from Melton Mowbray

"Lovely, peaceful lodge. Stayed here in april for 3 days, lovely welcome, fresh fruit and as many fresh eggs as we could eat, very peaceful area, near everything but far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet. Very nice owners whom were very helpful."


By Theo and Ria from Neer, The Netherlands

"A very nice high standard Lodge where we stayed for a week. We know the area very well therefore we choose the Blackthorne Lodge as a base to touring. Even better is the local pub/restaurant at walking distance. We had a very warm welcome from Julia and Joe and we certainly coming back next year! At last we found our place to stay because we're coming over now for 15 years!!"

If you have stayed at Blackthorn Lodge and would like to see your review published here please send us your review.

 


Last Modified on: 02-10-2016

Forthcoming Events

DOTTY - Art Exhibition

Date:
09/09/2016 - 29/10/2017
Description:
Exhibition of work by Hilda Smith - Dotty - mixed media work of scenes and still life in the style of dots.

Family of Blaenafon and Family of Miners

Date:
29/08/2017 - 28/01/2018
Description:
Two photographic exhibitions by Walter Waygood documenting the landscape, home life, society, work, religion, mining and youth in Blaenafon from the 1970s onwards.

Mum2Be Antenatal Information Station

Date:
18/10/2017
Description:
Monthly Antenatal Information Station at Cwmbran ICC

Community Coffee Morning

Date:
18/10/2017
Description:
Every Wednesday 10 till 12, drop in for a cuppa, biscuit and a chat.
  See all events

Get Involved

Are you a local business, community group or individual, located in Torfaen, and in need of a website?

If so, Webster can help you. Its FREE!

Webster on Computer Get Involved